Independent candidate wins Krishnanagar Municipality

Published On: July 4, 2017 04:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 4: Rajat Pratap Shah, an independent candidate, has clinched the mayoral post of Krishnanagar Municipality of Kapilvastu district. With the final counting of 7328 votes, Shah secured victory in the election.

His closed rival was Brahmananda Upadhyaya of Nepali Congress (NC), who scored 3205 votes. Likewise, Shabnam Khatun has been elected as deputy-mayor with 3411 votes. Her immediate rival Arati Devi Chowdhary of NC secured 3155 votes.

Earlier, an independent candidate from RJPN, Nisar Ahmad Khan was elected as the chairperson of Shuddhodan Rural Municipality. 

Leave A Comment