Renu Dahal elected as Mayor of Bharatpur Metropolis for the second time

Published On: May 24, 2022 10:09 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

CHITWAN, May 24: The ruling coalition has won the post of mayor and deputy mayor of Chitwan's Bharatpur Metropolitan City. 

Ruling alliance candidate Renu Dahal of the CPN (Maoist Center) has been elected as the mayor  and Chitrasen Adhikari of the Nepali Congress (NC) has been elected as the deputy mayor of Bharatpur metropolis.

The Chief Electoral Officer has not officially announced the result of the local level elections held on May 13. Dahal of the CPN (Maoist Center) defeated her nearest contender Bijay Subedi of the CPN-UML by a wide margin of 12,449 votes. While Dahal got 52,030 votes, Subedi was limited to 39,581 votes.

Dahal has garnered 8,903 more votes during this election as compared to the previous local elections. Dahal then won the election with 43,127 votes, while Devi Gyawali of the UML polled 42,924 votes. 

UML candidate Subedi had resigned from the post of parliamentarian of Bagmati province and contested the election for the post of mayor.

NC' Adhikari has defeated RPP's Himala Gurung by 22,191 votes. Adhikari got 52,812 while her rival Gurung got 30,000 votes. Adhikari was earlier the Ward Chairman of Ward Number 21.


Leave A Comment