Regmi elected as NWA Chairperson

Published On: September 17, 2016 09:34 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Sept 17: The third general convention of Nepal Women's Association (NWA) has elected Uma Regmi (Adhikari) as the new Chairperson of the Association. 

Regmi, who secured 998 votes, emerged to the top position of the sister wing of Nepali Congress (NC) in the election that started since Friday noon and lasted through 12:15 am on Saturday. She defeated her rival Meena Pandey by more than 200 votes, according to NWA's Election Committee Chief Election Officer Yadunath Khanal. 

Regmi also had been elected the Chairperson of the Association in its first convention held in Biratnagar in 2001 .

Likewise, the Convention has elected Dhana Khatiwada as General-Secretary and Janaki Singh as Treasurer who secured 998 and 911 votes respectively in the poll. 
Of total 2,114 voters, only 1,814 had cast their votes in the election. A total of 126 candidates had vied for various 53 positions within the Association. RSS


Leave A Comment