Reactions of leaders belonging to different political parties on SC verdict to reinstate parliament

Published On: February 23, 2021 07:59 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 23: Top leaders belonging to various political parties including the main opposition party Nepali Congress (NC), the Dahal-Nepal faction of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP), Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) have welcomed the decision of the Supreme Court (SC) to reinstate parliament that was dissolved by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli two months ago. 

While terming the court verdict as the historic one, NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel, NCP senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, NCP spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha, federal chairman of JSP Dr Baburam Bhattarai, RPP Chairman Kamal Thapa and NC youth leader Gagan Thapa among others said that apex court’s verdict helps to bring the constitution on track and marks the victory of democracy in the country. 

On December 20, 2020, President Bidya Dev Bhandari had dissolved parliament at the recommendation of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. Prime Minister Oli had maintained that he was forced to dissolve parliament as he was not allowed to work properly by the leaders within his own party.

As many as 13 writ petitions including the one by the ruling Nepal Communist Party’s Chief Whip Dev Prasad Gurung were registered at the apex court seeking the restoration of the lower house parliament. 

Here are the screenshots of the social media posts that various leaders have made shortly after the apex court’s decision to reinstate the House of Representatives (HoR).




Leave A Comment