Rath anchors Biratnagar Warriors to win in consecutive matches

Published On: December 20, 2017 12:54 PM NPT By: Rajan Shah

KATHMANDU, Dec 20: Anshuman Rath’s 60 runs anchored the chase for Biratnagar Warriors winning the match by three wickets in a second nail-biting finish of the tournament. Pokhara left-arm spinners shared five wickets but couldn’t avoid the defeat.

Anshuman Rath scored six fours and two sixes during his innings and was dismissed only in 19th over after securing the match for Warrirs. Youngster Pranit Thapa Magar remained cool headed sealing the match for Warriors.

Paras Khadka’s three wickets and good all-round fielding effort by Biratnagar Warriors have restricted Pokhara Rhinos to 122 runs in 20 overs. Plenty of runs were saved by Warriors fielders as Rhinos batsmen couldn’t cut loose at the end overs.

Similar to end of Lalitpur Patriots innings in last match, Warriors bowlers lead by Karan KC delivered disciplined line and lengths to restrict Rhinos batsmen from getting away with big shots.

Earlier, Biratnagar won the toss and invited Pokhara Rhinos to bat first. Israrullah continued his innings where he left against Chitwan Tigers and scored a six in only second over of the match. However, Warriros skipper Paras Khadka struck in his first over removing Israrullah. He again dismissed Binod Bhandari and Shakti Gauchan to leave Pokhara reeling on five for 69 in 14th over.

Rajesh Pulami scored 30 runs for his team. Saurav Khanal and Taaj Wali collected important runs at the end overs scoring 16 and 18 runs respectively. Biratnagar has also been awarded five penalty runs and will start their innings with five runs already on the board. The last duo of Pokhara Rhinos ran on the protected area of the pitch which then resulted on conceding penalty runs.

Leave A Comment