Rasila Maharjan into final of three Pushpalal categories

Published On: November 17, 2018 09:21 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 17: The departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club’s Rasila Maharjan has advanced into the final of women’s singles, women’s doubles and girls’ U-17 categories in the ongoing Yonex Sunrise eighth Pushpalal Memorial National Open Badminton Tournament on Friday. 

In the women’s singles semifinals played at the National Sports Council (NSC)’s Covered Hall in Tripureshwar, Maharjan defeated the defending champion Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Jessica Gurung 21-13, 21-11 to reach the final. In the other match, Army’s Nangsal Devi Tamang saw off APF’s Shakti Gauchan 21-12, 21-8 to set a summit clash with Maharjan. 

Likewise, in girls’ U-17 semifinals, Maharjan beat Morang’s Rose Pandey 21-9, 21-6 to set a clash with Army’s Ranjana Bhatt, who got past Morang’s Sima Rajbanshi 21-16, 21-15. 

Similarly, in women’s doubles, Army pair Maharjan and Tamang reached the final. Maharjan and Tamang beat overcame JEST’s Sita Rai and Banke’s Samjhana Sharma 21-11, 21-11. Now, they will take on APF’s Puja Shrestha and Gurung, who defeated Army’s Amita Giri and Anu Maya Rai 21-14, 17-21, 21-13. 

In men’s singles, Army’s Ratnajit Tamang reached the final defeating Army’s Rukesh Maharjan 21-11, 21-14. He has set the summit clash with APF’s Deepesh Dhami, who beat Army’s Nabin Shrestha 21-17, 21-6. 

In boys’ U-17, Prince Dahal also reached the final by beating JEST’s Priyanshu Singh Chhetri 21-12, 21-9. He has set a summit clash with Army’s Diwas Shankar, who defeated JEST’s Pemba Sherpa 21-14, 15-21, 21-12. 

Meanwhile, in men’s doubles, Army’s Tamang and Nabin Shrestha will take on APF’s Dhami and Bijit Thapa in the final. 


Leave A Comment