Ranipokhari crowned ‘B’ Division champions

Published On: March 6, 2019 09:40 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 6: Rani Pokhari Corner Team (RCT) has won the Martyr’s Memorial ‘B’ Division Football League hosted by All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) after defeating Shree Bhagawati by a goal during the final league match played at ANFA Complex, Satdobato, on Tuesday.

RCT will not be promoted to ‘A’ Division as per the preset rules of no promotion or relegation, according to ANFA, the country's apex football body. Manang Marsyangdi Club had won the first division football league earlier in the 2018/19 season.

RCT’s Lokendra Bahadur Karki headed in a goal off an assist from corner taken by Unam Budhathoki in the 25th minute. RCT had a total of nine points, three more than runner-up Shree Bhagawati to secure the second division title. The winning team received a cash prize of Rs 800,000 whereas the first runner up won a cash prize of Rs 500,000.

Satdobato youth club’s Birendra Limbu won the best forward award whereas Bhagawati’s Darshan Gurung won the best midfielder award. Similarly, RCT’s Karki was awarded the best defender whereas Tusal Youth’s Binod Sodari won the best goalkeeper award. Champion team RCT’s coach Baiju Kapali was recognized with the best coach award. Each winner received Rs 25,000.

Twelve teams were divided in two groups of six each. The top two teams of each group advanced to the second round.


Leave A Comment