Rana siblings win women’s doubles title

Published On: October 14, 2017 10:01 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 13: Mahika Rana and Mayanka Rana have won the women’s doubles’ title of the ongoing second Lalitpur District National Open Lawn Tennis Tournament on Friday.

In the match played at the Tennis Complex, Satdobato, Lalitpur, the Rana siblings defeated Abhilasha Bista and Ganga Sharma 6-3, 7-5 to become the champions.  

In the semifinals of men’s singles, Kamal Bhandari advanced to the final on retired rule.    
Kamal took a 7-6 lead in the first set and went in front 4-1 in the second, when Pranab retired due to injury. Bhandari will face Santosh Khatri for the men’s single title, who saw off Pradeep Khadka 6-3, 6-3.

Similarly, Santosh Khatri and Aatmaram Karki’s pair will face Kamal Bhandari and Mahesh Shrestha in the men’s doubles final. Santosh and Aatmaram overcame Man Bahadur Katuwal and Jeevan Ghimire 6-4, 6-4 while Kamal and Mahesh overwhelmed Shreeram Magar and Pranab Khanal 7-5, 6-2 in the semifinals.


Leave A Comment