Rana siblings Mayanka, Mahika into semis

Published On: April 25, 2017 09:25 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 25: Rana siblings Mayanka and Mahika have advanced to the women's singles semifinals of the ongoing Citizens Bank Open Tennis Tournament on Tuesday. 

To book their places in the last four, Mayanka defeated Sneha Yadav by 6-1, 6-1 while Mahika overcame the challenge of Bhagwati BK by 6-0, 6-3 in the quarterfinal matches played at Satdobato Tennis Court. In other matches of the same event, Ira Rawat saw off Ganga Sharma by 6-0, 6-3 and Prerana Koirala registered 6-0, 6-0 win over Lumu Lama. After the wins, both Ira and Prerana reached the last four of the tournament. 

In the men's singles category, defending champion Samrakshak Bhushan Bajracharya, Santosh Khatri, Jitendra Paryar and Pranav Khanal all entered to the semifinals. Samrakshak saw off Dawa Sherpa by 6-2, 6-3 while Santosh defeated Anil Shahi by 6-3, 6-4. Similarly, Jitendra overcame Kumar Adhikari by 6-0, 6-1 and Pranav edged past Nabin Magar by 6-2, 6-3.  

Meanwhile in the men's singles above 35 age category, Mahesh Shrestha, Niraj Thapa, Kamal Bhandari and Raju Shrestha advanced to the semifinals. Similarly in the men's singles above 45 age category, Sami serchan, Manoj Shah, Pradip Shah and Pratap Moktan emerged victorious and entered last four. 

In the men's doubles of above 35 age category, the pair of Raju Chhetrri and Rajesh Pariyar, Mahesh Shrestha and Kamal Bhandari advanced to the semifinals. Similarly in the same event, pair of Atmaram Karki and Anuj Arora, Chhewang Lama and Manoj shah also booked their places in the last four. 

From Wednesday onwards, all the matches of the tournament will be shifted to National Sports Council (NSC)'s tennis court, Tripureshwor Wednesday onwards from Satdobato Tennis Court. 
Meanwhile All Nepal Lawn Tennis Association (ANLTA) has selected three each players from boy's and girl's category to take part in the South Asian Qualifiers of ITF Asian U12 Team Championship. 

Aryan Giri, Arav Samrat Hada and Akijuwen Rawat are selected in boys' category while Isha Shree Shah, Sbhrani Shrestha and Subhangi Laxmi Shah are chosen from girls' category according to Tournament Director Ajay Bista. The qualifiers will be held at Satdobato Tennis Court from May 13 to 20.  

Leave A Comment