14th General Convention

Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhan Raj Gurung elected Vice Presidents of Nepali Congress

Published On: December 16, 2021 05:53 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 16: Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhan Raj Gurung have been elected as Vice Presidents of Nepali Congress (NC).

Khadka and Gurung were declared winners during the ongoing counting of the votes cast during the 14th General Convention of the party. While Khadka was  a running mate of President Sher Bahadur Deuba, Gurung was one of the two candidates of the part's vice president from the Dr Shekhar Koirala-led panel.

While Khadka secured 2121 votes, Gurung secured 1908 votes. Interestingly, Gurung defeated another contender for the party's vice president Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar by a thin margin of 2 votes. 

There were seven candidates vying for the two posts of the party president. They included Khadka and Gachchhadar (Deuba-led panel), Sujata Koirala and Mahesh Acharya (Prakash Man Singh-led Panel), Dr Chandra Bhandari and Gurung (Dr Shekhar Koirala-led panel) and Dibyeshwori Shah (Bimalendra Nidhi-led panel).

While Gachchhadar secured 1906 votes, Dr Bhadari bagged a total of 1580 votes. Similarly, Koirala and Acharya secured 644 and 589 votes, respectively. Shah secured a total of 132 votes.

Of the total 4743 General Convention representatives of the party, a total of 4673 representatives had cast their votes for the election of two vice presidents. According to the NC Election Committee, 55 votes were declared invalid.


Leave A Comment