Pun, Koju win Dharan marathon

Published On: March 12, 2019 09:45 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHAMDNU, March 12: Tirtha Pun of Baglung and Kanchi Maya Koju of Bhaktapur have won the men’s and women’s categories of Aarati Strips Seventh Dharan 10K Marathon hosted by Dharan Run in Dharan on Saturday.

Indian Gorkha Army’s Pun completed his run in 31 minutes and 16 seconds, whereas Armed Police Force’s Koju took 37 minutes and 47 seconds to complete the 10-kilometer run.
This was Pun’s fourth and Koju’s second win of the annual tournament. Both received cash prizes of Rs 40,000.

In the men’s category, Parbat’s Anish Thapa finished runner-up taking six seconds more than Pun, followed by third-placed Gajendra Rai who took 31 minutes and 35 seconds to finish the run. Thapa and Rai received cash prizes of Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively.

In the women’s category, Dhading’s Santoshi Shrestha finished second taking 21 seconds more than Koju, followed by third-placed Armed Police’s Pushpa Bhandari who took 38 minutes and 47 seconds to complete the run. The two received Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively.

In U-16 category, Jumla’s Naresh Budha, Achham’s Prabin Kumar Bohora and Dharan’s Kiran Limbu finished in top three positions respectively. Similarly, in the same age category for women, Damak’s Manisha Tai, Chandra Kala Bhujel and Sangita Tamang finished in the top three positions, respectively.
In U-12 category, Rodan Rai won for men and Smriti Rai won for women.

Likewise, Dharma Maharjan won in the men’s veteran category for age between 40 to 60 years, whereas Rita Devi Rai won in the women’s category for the same age group. Winners of age-groups and veteran’s category won cash prizes of Rs 7000 (first place), Rs 5000 (second place), and Rs 3000 (third place).

Leave A Comment