Pun and Gurung adjudged strongest players

Published On: October 5, 2018 06:44 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Oct 5: Nepal Police’s Tara Devi Pun and Sandesh Gurung have been adjudged Nepal’s strongest in Nepal Strongest Weightlifting Tournament 2018 in Kathmandu on Thursday. Pun lifted 166 kg in women’s 75 kg category and Gurung registered 258 kg in men’s 105 kg category. Both received cash prize of Rs 11,000.

Nepal Army’s Kamal Bahadur Adhikari and Banke’s Prakash KC were awarded as Best Weightlifters in men’s senior and junior categories respectively. Similarly, Devi Kumari Chaudhary of Nepal Police and Sanju Chaudhary of Banke were named Best Weightlifters in women’s senior and junior categories respectively.

Likewise, Lalbabu Paswan of Armed Police Force and Pallavi Chaudhary of Divine Fitness were adjudged emerging players in men’s and women’s category respectively.

Nepal Army’s Raju Chaudhary lifted 203 kg to win gold medal in men’s senior 62 kg category. He lifted 77 kg and 115 kg in snatch and clean. Nepal Police’s Mui Lama and APF’s Subash Kumar Shah won silver and bronze in the same category. They lifted 87 kg (snatch), 100 kg (clean) and 78 (snatch), 96 (clean) respectively. 

In junior category for same weight, Nepal Police’s Ganesh Rana Bhatt lifted 161 kg to win gold medal. He lifted 73 kg and 88 kg in snatch and clean. Banke’s Tusar Budhamagar and Parsa’s Niraj Gupta won silver and bronze in the same category. They lifted 65 kg (snatch), 85 kg (clean) and 50 kg (snatch), 67 kg (clean) respectively.

In 69 kg category for men, Olympian Kamal Adhikari won the gold medal whereas APF’s Mahesh Chaudhary and Army’s Jeevan Tamang followed with silver and bronze medals. They lifted 255 kg (snatch 110 kg, clean 145 kg), 210 kg (snatch 90 kg, clean 120 kg) and 177 kg (snatch 75 kg, 102 kg) respectively. In the same category for juniors, Banke’s Prakash KC won gold followed by Bara’s Sajaruddin Alam and Banke’s Prashant Yogi in second and third positions.

In 77 kg category for men, Nepal Police’s Bikash Thapa won the gold medal. Similarly, Army’s Yagya Bahadur Saru and APF’s Tilak Thapa won silver and bronze medals respectively. In juniors, Banke’s Suraj Baishya won the gold.

In 85 kg category, Nepal Police’s Om Prakash Baisya, Army’s Dinesh Karki and APF’s Santosh Chaudhary won gold, silver and bronze respectively. In junior category, Kanchanpur’s Bikash Bhatta and Bara’s Nag Arjun bagged gold and silver respectively.

In 94 kg for senior men, Army’s Tahal Bahadur Basel, Police’s Gagan Chand and Shree Krishna Maharjan won gold, silver and bronze. In juniors for same category, Kanchanpur’s Bishal Singh Bista won the gold.
In 105 kg for men’s senior, Nepal Police’s Sandesh Gurung, Nepal Army’s Binod Khadka and APF’s Ran Bahadur Nagarkoti won gold, silver and bronze respectively. In juniors, Bardiya’s Roshan BC won the gold. 

Leave A Comment