Province 7 CM wins vote of confidence

Published On: March 7, 2018 06:30 AM NPT By: DIL BAHADUR CHHATYAL

38 votes for and 10 against him

DHANGADHI, Mar 7: Province 7 Chief Minister (CM) Trilochan Bhatta has comfortably secured a vote of confidence in the provincial assembly. In the voting held at the provincial assembly meeting on Tuesday, 38 provincial assembly members voted for him while 10 voted against him. 

The voting was held at the fifth meeting of the provincial assembly. Of the total 53 assembly members, four from the Nepali Congress (NC) were absent while Speaker Arjun Thapa refrained from voting.

Predictably, the assembly members from the ruling CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) supported CM Bhatta while those from the NC and Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) voted against him. 

As per the country's constitution, the elected CM should garner the vote of confidence from the provincial assembly within 30 days of assuming the office. CM Bhatta had assumed office on February 15 after being appointed the CM by Province Chief Mohan Raj Malla.

His voters have expressed confidence that CM Bhatta will steer the province towards the much-needed economic development and prosperity. After winning the vote of confidence, Bhatta said he would prioritize formulating laws which will pave the way for prosperity.

Leave A Comment