NSC to host Prime Minister Cup

Published On: May 11, 2017 10:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 11: National Sports Council (NSC) is organizing the First Prime Minister Cup Cricket Tournament from May 23 to June 7. The 50-over format tournament with the biggest cash prize will be held under the management of Kathmandu Cricket Training Center at the TU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur. 

The organizer informed journalists that tournament to be conducted in league-cum knockout format will feature eight domestic teams including five development region teams and three departmental sides by organizing a press meet in the capital on Thursday. 

The participating teams, Eastern Region, Central Region, Western Region, Mid-western Region and the Far-western Region team alongside Armed Police Force (APF), Nepal Police Club and Tribhuvan Army Club, will be divided into two groups and the top two teams from each group will advance to the last four. 
The champion of the tournament will bag a cash prize of Rs 2 million while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 1 million. Similarly team facing defeat in semifinal will be given Rs 50,000.

Meanwhile, the participating team will be given Rs 25,000 for winning every league round match.

Likewise, man-of-the-series will be rewarded with Rs 100,000 while the best batsmen and bowler will take home Rs 50,000 each. Emerging player will be awarded with Rs 25,000 while man-of the-match will be given Rs 5000. Meanwhile, each participating team will be provided Rs 50,000 as preparation fund.

Speaking about the tournament budget, NSC's Member Secretary Keshav Kumar Bista said that Nepali apex sport governing body has allocated Rs 2.5 million for the tournament. He also informed that main sponsor of the tournament Ruslan will provide Rs 2.5 million while another sponsor Citizens Bank and online partner E-sewa will give Rs 300,000 each.

Leave A Comment