President decorates 633 persons for their contribution to different sectors of society

Published On: April 14, 2021 06:27 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, April 14: President Bidya Devi Bhandari conferred various honours, decorations and medals on personalities contributing to different sectors of the nation.

The head-of-state conferred the orders, decorations and medals on those personalities at an investiture function held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, Sheetal Niwas. These personalities could not be decorated at the earlier function on April 9.

The decorations are conferred on different personalities in accordance with Article 277 (1) of the Constitution of Nepal and on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

The list of individuals and institutions receiving the decorations, medals and honours has already been made public before this.

The Decorations Committee had last year recommended the names of 633 persons for decorations, including two persons for the Mahaujjwal Rashtradeep (First Class), seven persons for the Suprasiddha Janasewashree First Class, one person for the Ujjwal Kirtimaya Rashtradeep Second Class, one person for the Prasiddha Janasewashree Second Class, nine persons for the Sukritimaya Rashtradeep Third Class, 112 persons for the Suprabala Janasewashree Third, eight persons for the  Kirtimaya Rashtradeep Fourth Class, 200 persons for the Prabala Janasewashree Fourth and 110 persons for the Janasewashree First, toward the Honours. Likewise, the Committee had recommended 155 persons for Decorations and 28 individuals for Medals.

The 450 individuals who were conferred with the decorations on the occasion of the Constitution Day and the National Day, 2076 BS as per the decision of the Council of Ministers on September 17, 2019 were also decorated today. They could not be decorated last year as the investiture function could not be organised due to the risk of COVID-19 pandemic.

The persons remaining to be decorated today will be conferred with the decorations at an investiture ceremony to be organised on April 14.

The recommendation for the decoration was made by a meeting of the Decorations Committee chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Ishwar Pokhrel. Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa, the designated experts are the members and Home Secretary Maheshwor Neupane is the member-secretary of the Committee constituted as per Section 4 of the Decorations Act, 2064 BS.

Leave A Comment