Pragatishil lifts TAAN football title

Published On: November 10, 2016 08:15 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 10: Pragatishil Youth Club on Thursday lifted the title of the Third TAAN Martyrs Memorial Football Tournament held at Barunehshwar of Okhaldhunga. Pragatishil recorded a 5-3 tiebreaker win over Rumjatar United. 

The fate of the winner was decided through tiebreaker after both the teams were tied on 2-2 in the regulation time. Pragatishil staged a heroic comeback in the regulation time coming down from two goals to salvage the draw. Rumjatar opened the scoring in the sixth minute after Kumar Rai found the net. Bikram Nepali doubled the lead four minutes later.

Sanjog Rai cut the deficit in the 32nd minute and made the score 2-2 two minutes before the break. 

In the tiebreaker, all penalty takers converted for Pragatishil while two players of Rumjatar missed the penalty as goalie Rebati Magar denied them. 

The winner Pragatishil was rewarded with a purse of Rs Rs 50,000, along with cup and medals. The first runner-up Rumjatar United took home Rs 30,000. 
Meanwhile, Parijat took home the third place honors defeating Manebhanjyang 1-0. Parijat was rewarded with Rs 20,000.

The event was organized by Trekking Agencies Association of Nepal as part of its youth development program in major trekking areas of the country. It plans to organize similar event in Gorkha and Lamjung in the near future, according to Lila Baldab Dahal, the treasurer of TAAN and coordinator of the event.

Leave A Comment