PM-proposed amendment allows naturalized citizens to hold six key state posts

Published On: November 13, 2016 12:25 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 13: The government has prepared a draft of the proposal to amend the constitution so as to allow naturalized citizens to hold six of the 10 key state positions. Preparations are underway to register the amendment proposal in parliament within this month, according to a source close to the Prime Minister.

To garner the support of all sides to the amendment proposal, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal was engaged in meetings throughout Staurday.

Prime Minister Dahal held separate meetings with Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur deuba and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav and discussed the issue of constitution amendment. Dahal and Deuba discussed the need to forge consensus among the ruling coalition for the amendment of the constitution. Similarly, Yadav asked the PM to reach an agreement with the Madhesi front before registering the amendment proposal in the Legislature-Parliament.  

Preparations are underway to amend the constitution to bar naturalized citizens from holding the post of President, Prime Minister, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and chiefs of security bodies.  

Article 289 of the constitution bars naturalized citizens from holding the post of President, Prime Minister, Chief Justice, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief of State, Chief Minister, Speaker of the State Assembly and chiefs of security bodies.

Similarly, the Prime Minister has proposed to remove Palpa, Gulmi, Arghakhanchi districts from Province 5 and include them in Province 4 and include Rukum, Rolpa and Pyuthan districts in Province-6. If this proposal gets endorsed, only Nawalparasi, Rupandehi, Kapilvastu, Dang and Banke districts will remain in Province 5.

The PM has proposed these amendments to address the demands of the Madhesi Front. The Front has been demanding that there be only two provinces in Tarai-Madhes.

Similarly, the PM has proposed that the dispute concerning districts like Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Kailali and Kanchanpur be resolved by forming a commission. “We are near agreement regarding this proposal,” said Keshav Jha, general secretary of National Madhes Socialist Party. However, Upendra Yadav said that this proposal will not be acceptable to the Madhesi Front. “The dispute regarding the five districts should be resolved immediately, not through a commission,” he said.     


Languages of official business will be included in the annex of the constitution based on the recommendations from the language commission. Members of the National Assembly will be elected from provinces on the basis of population. At least three members will represent each of the seven provinces in the Assembly.

Leave A Comment