PM Deuba assumes office

Published On: June 7, 2017 05:06 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 7: Newly-elected Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has assumed office at Singha Durbar on Wednesday after taking oath of office and secrecy from the president earlier in the day.

He has formed a small cabinet with three deputy prime ministers and four other ministers from his own party Nepali Congress and the other major coalition partner CPN (Maoist Center).

Earlier, President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to Deuba amidst a special function in Sheetal Niwas.

With the swearing in ceremony, Deuba now has become the prime minister for the fourth time who secured 388 votes out of 593 votes in the parliament on Tuesday.

During the PM’s voting, 170 lawmakers, mostly from CPN-UML, voted against him while as many as 35 abstained from the voting process.


Leave A Comment