PJ club photo Contest winners announced

Published On: July 30, 2016 09:08 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 29: Photo Journalists’ Club Nepal has announced the winners of IME Global IME Nepal Photo Contest 2016 on Friday. Deepak Ratna Bajracharya’s photo won the Photo of the Year category bagging the cash prize of Rs 100,000.

The photo was taken during the 2015 earthquake in Swayambhu and depicts a group of frightened people as heavy dust from the falling debris swirls around them.

A total of 6670 photos were submitted by 811 individuals in the competition. Except the major Photo of the Year title, the competition was divided into seven categories.

The top three winners of each category received Rs 30,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively. 
Indian photojournalist Prashant Panjiar headed the seven member jury that included journalist Kunda Dixit, photographer Mani Lama, curator Sangita Thapa, KU School of Art’s coordinator Sujan Chitrakar, photojournalists Narendra Shrestha and Prakash Mathema. 

The shortlisted 150 photographs will be exhibited in five major cities of Nepal.

Photo of the Year
Deepak Ratna Bajracharya

Photo Story
First    Nabin Baral 
Second     Sagar Chhetri
Third    Navesh Chitrakar

First    Navesh Chitrakar
Second     Rajesh Gurung
Third    Laxmi  Prasad Ngakhusi

First    Surbindra Kumar Pun
Second    Robic Upadhayay
Third    Umesh Shrestha

Nepal Smiles
First    Navesh Chitrakar
Second    Rajendra KC
Third    Sulav  Bhakta Shrestha

Nature and Wildlife    
First    Ramesh Kumar Poudel
Second    Bishop Tamrakar

Third    Bikash Khadge

A photo by Ramesh Kumar Poudel, winner of ‘Nature and Wildlife’ category.

Daily Life    
First    Naresh Shrestha
Second    Gopen Rai
Third    Pratap Thapa

Culture and Tourism    
First    Dinesh Shrestha
Second    Sambranda Bajracharya
Third    Avash Karmacharya

A photo by Avash Karmacharya, third place winner of 'Culture and Tourism' category

Leave A Comment