Paudel, Shahi called up; Aasif to lead in U-19 Asia Cup

Published On: September 26, 2018 09:56 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 26: A 15-member squad set to represent Nepal in the upcoming Asian Cricket Council (ACC) U-19 Asia Cup which is going to held in Bangladesh from September 29 to October 7 this year, was announced on Tuesday in Kathmandu. 

The squad features four changes from national junior team’s last assignment in India. 

Mohammad Aasif Sheikh will continue to lead the team after winning a match and losing three under his captaincy in India. Kamal Singh Airee, the pace bowling allrounder, will be his deputy.

The return of Rohit Kumar Paudel, the senior national squad member, is set to boost the batting lineup which struggled to cross 200 runs in four attempts in Lucknow, India, during the quadrangular U-19 one-day series hosted by the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI). 

Similarly, the former national U-16 opening batsman Rabindra Jung Shahi has been called up to further strengthen the batting.

In bowling side of things, Lalitpur pace bowler Nandan Yadav will replace Kishore Mahato whilst left arm spinner Samsaad Sheikh made way for Surya Tamang. 

Whilst the rest of the squad remains same including the U-16 duo of wicket-keeper batsman Rit Gautam and opening batsman Trit Raj Das.

The best bowler of the one-day series in India, Sagar Dhakal retained his place as lead spinner along with pace bowler Rashid Khan and off-spinner Pawan Sarraf. 

The team will be accompanied by four-member support staff of head coach Binod Das, team manager Shakti Gauchan, assistant coach Manoj Katuwal and physiotherapist Vikram Neupane.

The selection committee was headed by Binod Kumar Das (Head Coach of Nepal U19 Cricket Team), Sunoj Bhattarai and Raju Khadka. 

Nepal team will travel to Bangladesh on September 27.

Mohammad Asif Sheikh (c), Kamal Singh Airee (vice captain), Rohit Kumar Paudel, Ravi Shah, Nandan Yadav, Rit Gautam, Pawan Sarraf, Rabindra Jung Shahi, Rasid Khan, 
Bhim Sharki, Trit Raj Das, Sundeep Jora, Sagar Dhakal, Arun Airee, Surya Tamang

Leave A Comment