Parliamentary hearing committee meets

Published On: July 10, 2018 12:12 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, July 10: The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee is meeting at 12 PM today where parliamentarians are likely to discuss about recommending officials to constitutional bodies and other priority issues.

Laxman Lal Karna of RJPN will chair the first meeting. Likewise, the National Assembly will meet at 4 PM today where the motion of public interest will be continued. Radheshyam Adhikari of Nepali Congress filed a motion demanding safety of Dr. Govinda KC along with presenting the National Medical Education Ordinance 2075 at the parliament.

Adhikari’s proposal was seconded by Anita Devkota and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi. Today’s meet is also expected to end ample of delayed ordinances on economy and credit among others.  

Yesterday, the committee was formed after opposition Nepali Congress provided the names of its members.

The 15-member panel quizzes nominees for constitutional positions and ambassadorial postings. It has representatives from both the Houses of federal parliament--12 from the House of Representatives and three from the National Assembly.

Suman Pyakurel and Nanda Chapai of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) and Jitendra Narayan Dev of the NC are from the Upper House. The HoR sent Surendra Pandey, Yogesh Bhattarai, Purna Kumari Subedi, Amrita Thapa, Niru Pal, Parbat Gurung, Shiva Kumar Mandal from the ruling NCP and Pushpa Bhusal Gautam, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki and Bhimsen Das Pradhan from the NC to the committee.

Laxman Lal Karna of the RJP-Nepal and Rajendra Shrestha of the SSF-Nepal are the other members. The PHSC will be chaired by the oldest member until its chair is elected. Karna is the oldest member while Bhattarai is likely to be elected the chairman.


Leave A Comment