Paras-led Chauraha risks crashing out

Published On: April 13, 2017 09:15 PM NPT By: DIL BAHADUR CHHATYAL

Shakti’s Rupandehi continues winning streak as it enters play-off

DHANGADHI, April 13: National team skipper Paras Khadka-led Dhangadhi Team Chauraha faced its second consecutive defeat in the ongoing Dhangadhi Premier League T20 Cricket Tournament on Friday as it lost to Kanchanpur Iconic by 11 runs.

In another match of the day, Biratnagar Kings captained by Sharad Vesawkar overcame Gyanendra Malla's CYC Attariya by eight wickets.  

In the first match of the day played at SSP Cricket Ground in Dhangadhi, Kanchanpur Iconic won the toss and decided to bat first before making a total of 105 runs. To lead the team to its first victory of the tournament, Kanchanpur Iconic's openers Sagar Pun and Sunil Dhamala gave a solid start to the innings building up a 57-run partnership for the first wicket. Although middle order batsmen including skipper Binod Bhandari were sent to the pavilion cheaply by Chauraha's bowlers, Siddhant Lohani who came to bat at number seven contributed 27 runs remaining not out. He smashed one boundary and two sixes to give his team a respectable total. Chauraha's Aarif Sheikh and Ramnarseh Giri claimed two wickets each while Sushan Bhari and Prem Tamang added one each. 

In reply, Chauraha was packed for 94 runs in 17.4 overs. Chauraha made terrible start as opener Raju Rijal was out for a duck in Avinash Karn's delivery. Anil Mandel contributed 12 runs while Aarif Sheikh contributed 22 runs. Skipper Khadka stroked run-a-ball 23 and also built up a 34-run partnership with Aarif for the third wicket. Kanchanpur Iconic's Avinash, who was declared the player-of-the-match, was the pick of bowling as he took three wickets giving away just 12 runs. Similarly, Lalit Bhandari and Chandra Sawad also claimed two wickets each while Sunil Dhamala and Siddhant Lohani added one each. 

In the second match of the day, CYC Attariya won the toss and chose to bat first before making a total of 92 runs. Biratnagar Kings' Sandeep Lamichhane was the pick of bowling as he took three wickets giving away just seven runs. He sent Attariya's skipper Gyanendra Malla, Yogendra Singh Karki and Pradeep Airee to the pavilion. Mahaboob Alam stroked highest 27 runs for Attariya and also built up a 27-run partnership with skipper Malla but that wasn't enough to give a respectable total for the team. Biratnagar Kings' Jitendra Mukhiya took two wickets while Sushil Kandel and Dipendra Singh Airee added one each. 

In reply, Biratnagar Kings met the target in 11.2 overs losing just two wickets. Although openers Amit Shrestha and Aakash Thapa were both out for one run each, Aasif Sheikh and Dipendra Singh Airee building up a 67-run partnership for the third wicket to pave way for victory. Player-of-the-match Aasif Sheikh stroked highest 46 runs in the match hitting four boundaries and two sixes off 37 balls. Attariya's Avinash Bohora and Sashi Kesari took one wicket each. 

Meanwhile on Friday, the first match of the day will be between Rupandehi Challengers and Kathmandu Goldens while the second match will see the battle between Chauraha and Attariya.   

Leave A Comment