Over 450 poll candidates lose deposit in Ilam

Published On: July 8, 2017 08:02 PM NPT By: Bhim Chapagain

ILAM, July 8: As many as 452 candidates have lost their deposits in the district in the local elections held on June 28.

Ninety-five candidates lost their deposits in Ilam Municipality after they did not secure 10 percent of valid votes.

Those losing deposits are five mayoral candidates and four deputy mayoral candidates. CPN (Maoist Center) candidate Chhabilal Acharya who contested elections for the post of mayor of Janapa Municipality, deputy mayoral candidate Prem Kumari Gurung of the same party have lost their deposits.

Acharya secured only four percent votes. According to the District Election Office, Acharya got only 963 votes out of the 21,693 valid votes.

Similarly, mayoral candidate Nirmala Chemjong representing Federal Democratic National Forum got only 112 votes, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) candidate Santosh Kumar Tamang secured 110 while independent candidate Pradip Tamang did not get any votes.

Deputy mayor’s Gurung got only 1, 048 votes, making up five prevent of the valid votes.  Likewise, RPP candidate contesting for the post of mayor Maya Devi Bhandari got 146 votes, while Forum candidate Nogu got only 95 votes.

Among 12 wards in Ilam Municipality, 23 candidates contesting for ward chairs and 63 ward members lost their deposits. Likewise, 95 candidates lost their deposits in Suryodaya Municipality, 68 candidates lost their deposits in Mai Municipality, 45 candidates lost their deposits in Fakfokthum Rural Municipality.

Similarly, four candidates contesting for the post of chairpersons and deputy chairpersons lost their deposits in Maijogmai Rural Municipality.

Likewise, 37 lost their deposits in Rong Rural Municipality, and 23 in Sandakpur Rural Municipality.

Candidates contesting for the post of mayor, deputy mayor had deposited Rs 1,500, those contesting for the post of ward chair 1,000 and ward members Rs 500 at the Election Office during the registration of their candidacies.

The EC had provided fifty percent discount in deposit to Dalit and women candidates, informed Nayab Subba at the EC.

A total of 425 representatives were elected to all the local units of Ilam district.



Leave A Comment