Opposition parties to meet at 11AM

Published On: May 22, 2021 10:25 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 22: Five major opposition political parties are scheduled to hold a meeting against the dissolution of parliament at the federal parliament building at 11AM today.

The main opposition party, Nepali Congress, Madhav Nepal-faction of UML, CPN (Maoist center) Bhattarai-Yadav faction of JSP and Rastriya Janamorcha Party are attending the meeting, according to Devendra Poudel, a CPN (Maoist center) leader.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari dissolved the House of Representatives (HoR) on Friday and announced mid-term elections for November 12 and November 19 at the recommendation of Prime Minister KP Oli.

Both PM Oli and president of NC, Sher Bahadur Deuba, had staked a claim on the post of prime minister in their capacities as leaders of the largest party in parliament after President Bhandari invited any political party leader to stake claim for the formation of an alternative government as per Article 76(5). 

Leave A Comment