NSC to pick players for World Cup Qualifiers

Published On: July 19, 2016 12:20 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 19: National Sports Council (NSC) is set to hold the National Women's Cricket Championship (T20) from July 23 to 26 at Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground, Kirtipur.

The championship will serve as the selection event for the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers for Asia region slated for October 9 to 15 October at the Tin Kwong Recreation Ground in Hong Kong.

NSC's Cricket Coordination Committee is holding the event following the suspension of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

As per a press release issued by the NSC on Monday, five regions and departmental team APF will compete in the event.

NSC recently organized district level and regional level selection events for the national championship.

Among the six teams, APF, Central Region and Mid-western Region are in Group A, while Eastern Region, Western Region and Far-western Region are in Group B.

The tournament will be played in round robin format with top team from both the groups entering the final.

The winner of the championship will bag Rs 100,000 and runner-up will receive Rs 50,000. NSC has also annoounced awards for the best player, best batswomen, best bowler and emerging player.

The organizer informed that the tournament will cost Rs 2 million.

Altogether 24 players will be picked up for the closed-camp training for the world cup qualifiers from the championship. The training will begin from the second week of August.

In the opening day APF will play against Central, while Eastern will play against Western.

Leave A Comment