NSC to host three tournaments this month

Published On: June 28, 2017 09:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 28: National Sports Council (NSC) has said that it will organize three tournaments this month in Kathmandu. 

The Nepali sports governing body informed that it will host the 9th National Inter-school President Running Shield, 3rd Inter-Kathmandu Valley School Level Dandi-biyo Tournament and 2nd Prime Minister Cup Inter University National Sports Event.

The Running Shield to be held in July 6-8 will feature eight events including football, cricket, volleyball, athletics, kabaddi, taekwondo, karate and wushu. The competition will see the participation of 130 players each from five development regions, according to the NSC. Team champion will bag Rs 25,000 while the runner-up and third placed team will be given Rs 20,000 and 15,000 respectively.  

Likewise in the individual events, the champion will be rewarded with Rs 3,000 while players finishing in the second and third places will be given Rs 2,000 and 1,000 respectively. Meanwhile, the team members of the teams finishing first to third positions in team events will receive Rs 1,500, 1,000 and 500 respectively.  Meanwhile, football and athletics will be hosted at Dasharath Stadium while volleyball and wushu will be played at the stadium's covered and semi-covered halls.

Likewise, kabaddi, taekwondo and karate will be held in Satdobato, Koteshwar Dojang and National Table Tennis Training Center, Lainchaur respectively. Similarly cricket event will be hosted at Pulchowk Engineering College's ground. 

Similarly the dandi-biyo tournament will feature 11 boys teams including five from Kathmandu and two teams each from Lalitpur, Bhaktapur and Kavre. The winner of the competition will take home Rs 15,000 while the runner-up and third placed team will be rewarded with Rs 10,000 and 5,000 respectively.  All the matches will be played on NSC's premises, Tripureshwar. 

Likewise, the PM Cup will see nine university teams competing in volleyball, table tennis and badminton events. Only boys' teams will take part in volleyball that will be played at Dasharath Stadium's covered hall while table tennis will be held at National Table Tennis Training Center, Lainchaur. Likewise, badmintion event will be hosted at International Sports Complex, Satdobato. Every team in table tennis and badminton will field four players each in men's and women's sections. 

Leave A Comment