Nepal thrashes Netherlands by nine wickets in T-20 Series

Published On: April 17, 2021 07:43 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, April 17: Nepal played it in style to thrash the team Netherlands by nine wickets in the first match of the Triangular International T20 Series at Kirtipur-based Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground on Saturday.

A 116-run partnership between Kushal Bhurtel and Aashif Shek helped the country secure the win. Elected into bat first after winning the toss, team Netherlands made 136 runs in allotted 20 overs at the loss of four wickets. Nepal achieved the 137-run target in 15 overs losing one wicket.

For Nepal, Bhurtel hit 62 runs off 46 balls with five sixes and five boundaries. Likewise, Aashif remained unbeaten on 54 runs off 38 balls including four sixes and four fours. Captain Gyanendra Malla remained unbeaten on 13 runs. For Netherlands, Julian De Mey took one wicket.

For Netherlands, Bas de Leede scored highest 41 runs, Scott Edwards 30, and Max O'Dowd 10. Likewise, Captain Peter Silar remained unbeaten on 22. For Nepal, Sandeep Lamichhane, a right-arm leg-spin bowler, took first wicket by dismissing O'Dowd in last ball of his second over.

Sompal Kami claimed second wicket for the country by sending Ben Cooper to the pavilion for a duck. In total, Lamichhane took two wickets conceding 22 runs in four overs. Likewise, Kami took one wicket for 13 runs in four overs.

Leave A Comment