ACC U-16 Cricket Tournament

Nepal thrashes Myanmar

Published On: December 15, 2017 07:41 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 15: Nepal thrashed Myanmar by 337 runs in its last group match of ongoing ACC U-16 Eastern Region Cricket Tournament on Thursday. 

The Nepali young team which had already secured its berth in the last four with a game in hand became Group A winner with six points acquired from three matches. 

Nepal will now face Group B runner-up Malaysia in the semifinal encounter on Saturday.
At Terdthai Cricket Ground (TCG), Bangkok, Nepal won the toss and chose to bat before making a total of 350-6 in 35 overs with the help of century from Rit Gautam. 

Myanmar that was chasing a big target was bowled out for just 13 runs in 11.3 overs after Nepali bowlers displayed an extraordinary bowling.  Narayan Joshi claimed 4-1 while Mekh Bahadur Sen Thapa pocketed 4-4 to restrict Myanmar for the lowest total of the tournament. 

Top scorer Rit Gautam smashed 78-ball 106 that included twelve boundaries. He also built a 99-run partnership with Trit Raj Das for the fourth wicket and 69-run partnership with Bishal Bikram KC for the third wicket. Similarly, Das made 64 runs facing 29 balls with three sixes and seven boundaries while KC scored 32-ball 42 that included seven fours. 

Earlier, Nepal had made positive start to the innings with its openers Kushal Malla and Suwash Ayer creating 54-run partnership for the first wicket. Malla and Ayer made 36 and 17 runs respectively. 

Hein Htet Aung was pick of Myanmar’s bowling as he claimed three wickets while Kyaw Min Htay, Phyo Zin, and Aye Thiha Moe added one wicket each. 

Meanwhile, Myanmar’s six batsmen including Pyae Son Hein, Kun Jet Aung, Htoo Zar Aung, Myat Sithu Ko, Phyo Zin, and Aye Thiha Moe were out for the duck. Hein Htet Aunbg who made just three runs, was the highest scorer for Myanmar while three other batsmen Zwe Hlaing Win, Kyaw Min Htay and Hla Htway made one run each. 

Meanwhile, the other semifinal math of the tournament will see Singapore and Hong Kong competing. Singapore and Hong Kong reached the last four as group B winner and group A runner-up respectively. 


Leave A Comment