Wheelchair Asia Cup T20 Cricket

Nepal loses again as India registers second straight win

Published On: May 17, 2019 01:22 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, May 17: Nepal wheelchair cricket team conceded second straight loss on the second day of the Wheelchair Asia Cup T20 Cricket Tournament as it suffered an eight-wicket loss at the hands of Bangladesh in Kirtipur on Thursday. 

At the Tribhuvan University (TU) Cricket Ground, Bangladesh won the toss, elected to field first and got a target of 149 runs for the loss of all its wickets in 19.1 overs. In reply, Bangladesh chased the target losing two wickets within 18.3 overs. 

Nepal started the inning brightly as the openers Homnath Rai scored 36 runs off 30 deliveries including four fours and Digam Singh Chemjung added 35 runs off 38 balls. But, none of the other batsmen could reach the 20-run mark as Dambar Magar contributed 19 runs off 13 balls, while Bishnu Pukar Shrestha hit 16 runs off 14 deliveries. 

The other remaining batsmen could not even reach the double figures as Dan Bahadur Thin and not out Sagar Pandey hit five runs respectively. Yam Bahadur Shrestha and Super Rai scored three and two runs respectively. Ramesh Khatri made just a run, while other two batsmen were out for ducks. 

Bangladesh’s Muhammad Mohidul Islam was the standout bowler of the match as he picked up three wickets giving away 26 runs in four overs, while Muhammad Ramin Shaikh pocketed a wicket in three overs conceding 22 runs. 

In reply, Muhammad Ripon Uddin scored an unbeaten half century off 35 balls hitting 10 fours, while opener Jabed Ahmed hit 38 runs off 34 deliveries which included seven fours. Likewise, the other opener Sajjad Hossain added 31 runs off 30 balls with six overs, while Muhammad Asif Hossain contributed not out 13 runs off 14 balls including two fours. 

Chemjung and Rai picked up a wicket each for Nepal. 

In the other match, India won two consecutive games defeating Pakistan by 17 runs. 

Pakistan won the toss, elected to field first and was presented a target of 194 runs for the loss of two wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Pakistan could only score 176 runs for the loss of five wickets in 20 overs. 

Parashuram Desale of India hit the first century of the tournament as he recorded 109 runs off 44 balls with 21 fours, while he was supported by his opening partner Saurabh Malik who scored 61 runs off 44 balls with 10 boundaries and a six. 

Adnan Aisar picked up a wicket for Pakistan. 

Sajid Ali Abbasi hit the highest not out 88 runs off 57 balls with 12 fours for Pakistan, while Muhammad Faiz added 47 runs off 32 balls including nine boundaries. Muhammad Latif hit 13 runs, while the other batsmen could not reach the double figures. 

Mailk took two wickets, while Desale and Vishwanath Gaurav claimed a wicket each.  

Nepal is at the bottom of the table with no point, while India is at top with four. Pakistan and Bangladesh are second and third with two points each. 

Leave A Comment