Nepal elected chair of LDC Experts' Committee under climate change convention

Published On: February 7, 2018 01:59 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 6: Nepal has been elected as the chair of the Experts' Committee of Least Developed Countries under the climate change convention. 

The 33rd meeting of the experts' committee held at Sao Tome and Principe in South Africa elected Under Secretary Naresh Sharma, who heads Climate Change Finance Management Section at the Ministry of Population and Environment, as the chair of the experts' group. Sharma will represent LDCs from Asia Pacific region. 

The LDC experts' committee was formed in 2001. As per the decision made by the LDCs that are parties to the climate change convention, the experts' committee works for the formulation and implementation of climate change adaptation. The experts' committee has been assisting in the formulation of National Adaptation Program of Action (NAPA). 

In 2014 and 2015, another Nepali Batu Krishna Uprety had assumed the chair of the experts' committee. 

Leave A Comment