NCP sans whip for ten months in province 1

Published On: February 6, 2020 02:04 PM NPT By: RSS

ITAHARI, Feb 6: The position of Whip of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) of NCP, Province- 1, Province Assembly 1 has been vacant for ten months.

Sita Thebe, a proportional Province Assembly member of erstwhile Communist Party of Nepal Maoist (Centre), was whip of the NCP.

On 5 April 2019, various subcommittees of the Province AssemblyAssembly were formed and Thebe was elected chairperson of Industry, Tourism, Forest and Environment Subcommittee. Since then, the NCP has not selected its whip.

When asked about selection of whip, Chief Whip of NCP State 1 Buddikumar Rajbhandari said this would be sorted out soon.

''The fifth and winter session of our Province Assembly starts from today,'' informed, Rajbhandari, a directly elected Province Assembly member of erstwhile Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist Leninist) from Solukhumbu district.

He added, ''This session runs for around four months and whip will be selected within this period.''

After concluding the fourth session of State Assembly of state 1 on 25 September 2019, its fifth session is starting from Thursday afternoon at 3 pm. This session, according to the speaker Pradip Bhandari, is finalizing the name of state after 2 years of its first and historic session on 5 February 2018. Province Assembly has already declared Biratnagar as the permanent capital of the province Assemblyon 6 May 2013.


Leave A Comment