NC wins mayors of Bhimdatta and Punarbas municipalities

Published On: May 23, 2022 11:08 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

MAHENDRANAGAR, May 23: Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Padam Bogati has won the mayoral post in Bhimdatta municipality of Kanchanpur. He secured 15,882 votes while closest contender Mahesh Prasad Pant of CPN-UML got 6,141 votes. 

Likewise, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) candidate Gajendra Bahadur Chand obtained 7,105 votes, informed Chief Election Officer Madan Bahadur Thami. 

Winning candidate Bogati is also the Kanchanpur district President of NC. 

Likewise, NC candidate Neelam Joshi Lekhak got elected to the post of deputy mayor of Bhimdatta municipality securing 12,216 votes. Her rival candidate Krishna Dutta Joshi of CPN (Maoist Center) and CPN (Unified Socialist) alliance obtained 10,596 votes. 

NC has won 13 out of 19 wards in Bhimdatta municipality. 

Meanwhile, NC candidates have won mayoral and deputy mayoral posts of Punarbas municipality in Kanchanpur. 

Toya Prasad Sharma of NC has been elected the mayor with 10,600 votes and Bhuliya Rana of the same party registered her victory to the deputy mayoral post securing 7,345 votes, informed the Office of Election Officer. 

Sharma's close contender Padam Pujara of CPN-UML got 4,674 votes and Unified Socialist's Jeewan Raj Thapa obtained 3,734 votes. 

Similarly, Maoist Centre's candidate Dhokhe Rana secured 5,492 votes and UML's Sushila Khatry got 5,303.


Leave A Comment