NC finalizes candidates for by elections

Published On: November 7, 2019 08:48 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU Nov 7: Main opposition Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized its candidates for a parliamentary seat and three provincial assembly seats for the upcoming by-polls amid disgruntlement within the party on Wednesday. 

The NC has decided to field Khemraj Paudel in Kaski-2 where he will face Bidya Bhattarai of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP). Paudel is seen as loyal to party president Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Expressing their discontent over Deuba's pick for Kaski-2, NC senior leaders Ram Chandra Paudel and Krishna Sitaula walked out of the party office bearers' meeting at Budhanilkantha Wednesday. Earlier, former lawmaker Dhanaraj Gurung had been recommended as candidate for the constituency but Gurung withdrew his claim after the party leadership insisted for Paudel. 

Similarly, NC has decided to field Krishna Bhadel from Bhaktapur, Keshav Acharya from Dang and Jit Bahadur Sherchan from Baglung in the provincial assembly seats. Bhadel is believed to be close to Deuba while Acharya is loyal to Paudel and Sherchan to Sitaula.

Meanwhile, NC has decided to field Prakash Rai for mayor of Dharan Sub-Metropolitan City. All the posts were vacant after death of elected representatives from the respective constituencies and local level.

Leave A Comment