Nayabasti earns first win

Published On: September 14, 2016 10:13 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 13: Nayabasti Youth Club and Satdobato Youth Club won their respective matches on Tuesday at the completion of sixth round in the Martyrs Memorial B Division League football tournament held at the APF ground in Halchowk.

Nayabasti edged past Samajik 4-3 in a seven goal thriller to earn its first win of the campaign. Similarly, Satdobato pulled a 1-0 win over Khumaltar Youth Club.   

In the day’s early kick off Manoj Thapa Magar’s 39th minute goal turned to be decisive in Satdobato’s victory. The win meant Satdobato have now accumulated 10 points from six matches and is level with Pulchowk and Chyasal in the standings.

In the second match of the day, Nayabasti came down from two goal deficit to beat Samajik.

After trailing by two goals in the first half, Raj Kandangwa cut goal deficit in ninth minutes into second half. Lila Bahadur Thapa Magar leveled the scores in the 62nd minute. Pradip Magar made it 3-2 for Nayabasti in the 66th minute and Ramesh Tamang netted fourth in the 75th minute. Bhuwan Basnet was on target a minute for Samajik but failed to net further and eventually lost the match 4-3

Earlier, Suresh Khatri had netted twice for Samajik scoring the leading goal as early as in the eighth minute and and doubled the tally in the 26th minute.

The first win of Nayabasti puts them on 12th position with six points while Samajik is one spot behind them with three points. 

With the completion of sixth round, New Road Team and Ranipokhari Corner Team occupy top two spots with 14 and 12 points respectively.


Leave A Comment