Nangsal lifts women’s badminton title

Published On: March 15, 2018 08:14 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 15: Nangsal Tamang of the departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club has won the women’s singles title of the Nationwide Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Tournament on Wednesday. 

In a match played at the Armed Police Force headquarters in Halchowk, Tamang defeated Rasila Maharjan of the same team in 2-1 set of 21-19, 19-21, 21-19 in the final. In men’s singles, Armed Police’s Deepesh Dhami and Army’s Ratnajit Tamang reached the final. Dhami beat Army’s Nabin Shrestha 21-16, 21-16, while Tamang beat Darchula’s Prince Dahal 21-17, 21-10. 

In women’s doubles, Army’s Tamang and Anu Maya Rai advanced into the final beating Jhapa’s Sunaina Mukhiya and Jessica Gurung 21-14, 11-21, 21-18, along with Armed Police’s Puja Shrestha and Sikhshya Shrestha, who beat Army’s Amita Gaire and Maharjan 21-11, 21-19. Likewise, in men’s doubles, Armed Police’s Dhami and Bijit Thapa reached the semifinals beating Banke’s Riyaj Ansari and Irfan Ansari 21-17, 21-11, along with Nepal Police’s Deepak Bohara and Jeevan Acharya, who beat Suraj Maharjan and Praphul Maharjan 9-21, 21-14, 25-23. 

Also, Armed Police’s Sudeep Sedhain reached the semifinals defeating Army’s Rukesh Maharjan and Pawin Lingthep 21-17, 22-24, 21-15, along with Army’s Tamang and Shrestha, who beat Armed Police’s Gautam Kathayat and Bishal Pradhan 21-19, 21-10. 

Leave A Comment