Mahar elected NSU president

Published On: August 18, 2016 09:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

Student panels loyal to Deuba-Sitaula sweep election

KATHMANDU, Aug 18: The student panels loyal to Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba and leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula joined hands to emerge victorious in the Nepal Student Union elections held on Wednesday.

Nain Singh Mahar from the Deuba panel was elected as new president of the NC's student wing defeating his close contender Manoj Mani Acharya, who was from the panel close to NC senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel. Mahar secured 1,447 votes while Acharya received 1,328 votes.

Kundan Kafle, who backed off from fighting for the post of president post, was elected as general secretary along with Saroj Thapa from the same panel. Kafle had earlier announced to compete against Mahar. But his panel, which is believed to be loyal to NC leader Sitaula, decided to support Mahar just ahead of the election to get support from the other panel in return.

Most of the office bearers and central committee members have been elected from the panels loyal to Deuba and Sitaula.

Earlier in the general convention of the NC in March, Deuba joined hands with Sitaula to emerge victorious in most of the positions in the party central committee as well. With the election results, NSU has got new leadership after nine years on Thursday.

Bikash KC, Sanjay Yadav, Ram Prasad Adhikari, Dilliram Subedi, Shreeprakash Rana, Khadga Dangi and Pushpa Kumar Shahi have been elected to the post of vice president. Similarly, Urmila Thapaliya from women, Nabin Rai from indigenous ethnic community, Sagar Pariyar from Dalit and Pawan Yadav from Madhesi community were elected as vice president under reservation quota.

Likewise, Krishna Karki, Rajesh Rauniyar, Madhav Dhakal, Harihar Sharma, Prakash Ghimire, Ishwar Bahadur Bista, Achyut Raj Kalauni, Sadhana Ghimire, Dipen Rai, Lalita Sunar, Ambika Chalaune and Prem Raj Joshi were elected as joint general secretaries. One joint-general secretary had been elected unopposed prior to the election.

After his election to the post of president, Mahar said he will work to execute his promises which he had expressed while seeking votes during the general convention.
“I have vowed to make the institution dynamic and competitive during the general convention. I will work to achieve the result it in my tenure,” he told Republica after the results of the elections were announced on Thursday.

Elections were held for 129 positions including the post of president, 11 vice presidents, two general secretaries, 13 joint general secretaries, one treasurer and 101 central committee members.

Leave A Comment