NA election concludes, results to be published by Friday

Published On: February 7, 2018 04:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 7:  The National Assembly election of six provinces has concluded.  The elections were held in Biratnagar, Lalitpur, Pokhara, Dang, Surkhet and Doti. Constitutionally, there will be a 59-member upper house.

Out of the total 59 members of the upper house, the election will elect 56 members while the government itself will nominate the remaining three members. There were no elections in Province 2 as all the candidates were elected unopposed.  

The election started from 10:00 AM and concluded at 3:00 PM today. According to Nawaraj Dhakal, spokesperson of EC, results of the today’s elections would be published by Friday. 

The vote-weigh of PA members is identifies as 48 and the vote-weigh of local level representatives is identify as 18.

In Province-1, 411 members from Provincial Assembly and local level representatives cast their votes to elect 8 National Assembly members. Khem Nepali from Dalit quota and Agam Bantawa from minority of left alliance and Dil Biswokarma and Mahesh Jaju from Nepali Congress are vying in Province-1.

The NA election of Province-3 concluded in Jawalakhel, Lalitpur where 348 voters cast their votes to elect eight National Assembly members. Likewise elections in other provinces also concluded successfully.

In Pokhara, counting of votes will start today itself. Of the eight seats for National Assembly elections, Prakash Panta from disabled quota was elected unopposed.  

In Province 5, 305 voters cast their votes and 238 in Province 6.  Results of Province 6 are likely to come by tomorrow morning, Chief Election Officer Medini Prasad Poudel said.

Likewise, of the eight candidates, six have already been elected unopposed in Province 7. Hence, only two candidates competed in today’s elections. Those elected unopposed are Seri Ram Parki and Chakra Prasad Snehi from Nepali congress and Chhatra Raj Joshi and Mahesh Kumar Mahara are vying from left alliance. A total of 229 candidates voted in the election.  


Leave A Comment