Members of provincial assemblies to be sworn in today

Published On: January 21, 2018 05:13 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 21: The newly-appointed governors of all seven provinces are going to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the members of provincial assemblies on Sunday. 

The swearing-in ceremony is taking place in the provinces amid protests in some parts of the country over the government decision to fix the provincial capitals. A day after getting an appointment and taking the oath of office and secrecy, the governors, the ceremonial heads of the provinces, have reached their respective provinces to assume office and administer the oath to the members of the provincial assemblies. 

Dissatisfied with the fixing of the provincial capitals in an "unscientific manner”, locals in various parts of the country including Dhankuta and Doti are protesting against the government decision. Lawmakers, however, have already reached the provincial capitals. 
"As per the law, the swearing-in ceremonies in all seven provinces should be conducted before 11 am," said Election Commissioner Ishwari Prasad Paudyal adding, "Thereafter, we need to publicize the name list of voters participating in the upper house election slated for February 7." 

Chiefs and deputy chiefs of 753 local units and members of the provincial assemblies will vote to elect a 59-member upper house. 

"We have already sent the names of senior most provincial assembly members of all provinces so that he or she can administer the oath of office and secrecy to other members after taking the oath from the governors," said Commissioner Paudyal. 
Preparations for administering the oath of office and secrecy to the provincial members elected from Province-1 have completed. The governor is administering the oath to the newly-elected provincial assembly members at the Biratnagar-based Birendra City Hall. 

Ram Prasad Acharya, chief district officer of Morang, said that the swearing-in ceremony will take place at 10 am, Sunday. Leaders of the political parties, members of parliament, business persons, civil society leaders and media have been urged to participate in the function before starting the swearing-in ceremony. 

Govinda Subba, the governor of the province, has returned to Biratnagar after participating in the swearing-in ceremony organized at the President's Office in Kathmandu.  The Regional Office of Livestock has been chosen as the office of the governor whereas Office of the Morang Irrigation Project has been developed as the residential office of the governor. 

In Butwal, provincial members of Province 5 are taking the oath of office and secrecy. The swearing-in ceremony will take place in the meeting hall of Rupandehi District Chamber of Commerce and Industry. 

Umakant Jha, governor of Province 5, arrived in the province on Saturday evening. Altogether 87 provincial assembly members are elected from this province.  

Governors of other provinces have also completed preparations for the swearing-in ceremonies. They have urged protesters to restrain for now. "The wish for establishing a provincial capital in own area is a good idea. But I request all to protest peacefully while protesting in any part of the country," said governor Subba.

Leave A Comment