CPN (Maoist Center) ministers resign en masse

Published On: July 13, 2016 04:34 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 13: The ministers in the present government representing the main coalition partner, the CPN (Maoist Center) have resigned en masse.They submitted their resignation to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli today. 

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Energy, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, handed in the collective resignation to PM Oli. 

DPM Rayamajhi submitted the collective resignation of the ministers representing the Maoist Centre to the PM at the Prime Minister's residence in Baluwatar, PM Oli's press coordinator Chetan Adhikari said. 

The Maoist Centre on Tuesday decided to pull out of the government and form a new government under own leadership with the support of the main opposition party, the Nepali Congress, citing non-implementation of the nine-point agreement and the 'gentleman agreement' reached with the UML. 

A meeting of the Centre's office-bearers and its parliamentary party has urged Prime Minister Oli to resign and pave the way for formation of new government, stating the government has already been reduced to a minority status. Centre is also to introduce a no-confidence motion against the government in the Legislature-Parliament meeting today. 

The then UCPN (Maoist) which is now the Centre after its unification with various Maoist groups, had joined the present Oli-led government on October 11, 2015. RSS 

Leave A Comment