Maoist Center gets double the votes of UML in Bharatpur Metropolis-26

Published On: May 24, 2017 03:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

CHITWAN, May 24: CPN (Maoist Center) candidate Gyan Prasad Khanal has been elected as ward chairperson of Bharatpur Metropolitan City-26.

Khanal secured 16, 58 votes while his closest contender of Nepali Congress got 14, 60 votes.

UML had not fielded its candidate for the post of ward chairperson as per the electoral alliance with Maoist Center. However, this alliance was forged at Khanal’s own initiation against the party’s decision.

However, CPN-Maoist benefited from this alliance. Khanal was elected as ward chairperson while NC won all the four ward members. UML did not win any seats.

UML mayoral candidate Devi Gyawali has secured only 896 votes while Maoist Center’s Renu Dahal has got 1,549 votes from this ward.

With 29 wards in Bharatpur Metropolis, the vote counting of 17 wards has been completed.

UML has won 10 wards, NC five and Maoist Center 2.

NC and Maoist Center have forged electoral alliance to contest local elections in Bharatpur Metropolis.



Leave A Comment