Maoist Center forges electoral alliance with four parties in Palpa

Published On: June 18, 2017 02:15 AM NPT By: Mukti Prasad Nyaupane

PALPA, June 17: CPN (Maoist Center) has forged electoral alliance with major political parties like Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Rastriya Janamorcha in Palpa district to contest in the local polls on June 28.

As the Election Commission (EC) has set the date for filing nominations for political parties and independent candidates till Sunday, the Maoist Center finalized electoral alliance for various posts of local units in the district.

The district has 10 local units and the Maoist Center has forged electoral alliance with other parties in most of the units.

According to Basanta Sharma, district in-charge of the party, they forged electoral alliance with Nepali Congress in Bagnashkali Rural Municipality, Nisti Rural Municipality, ward-6 of Purwakhola Rural Municipality and ward-2 of Ramba Rural Municipality. 
Organizing a press conference on Friday, both the parties informed that they have agreed to field Krishna Prasad Basyal of Nepali Congress as chairperson in Bagnashkali Rural Municipality and Krishna Prasad Bhusal of Maoist Center as vice chairperson.

“Nepali Congress has agreed to support one Dalit member and a female member of the Maoist Center in the executive council. However, our alliance in ward levels have not been finalized,” Mathura Dhakal, coordinator of Maoist Center of Bagnashkali Rural Municipality, informed.

Similarly, they agreed to support Shalikram Pandey of Nepali Congress as chairperson and Balu Gaire of Maoist Center as vice chairperson. Nisti Rural Municipality has seven wards. 

Maoist Center will get chairperson of ward-6 of Purwakhola Rural Municipality while all other members will be of Nepali Congress as per the understanding reached between the two parties. Maoist Center will also get the chairperson of ward-5 of the same local unit and both parties have agreed to forward the names of two members from each party. 

Likewise, Maoist Center has set electoral alliance with CPN-UML in Rampur Municipality seeking one ward, 10 nominated members, one member from minority group and two from Dalit community. He also informed that the Maoists will get one female member in the executive council and one member in District Coordination Committee.

Meanwhile, Rastriya janamorcha and RPP have built their electoral alliance in Ribdikot Rural Municipality. As per the understanding, RPP will get vice chairperson and Janamorcha will get chairman of a single ward. Both parties have agreed to support Maoist Center in the remaining positions. “Janamorcha agreed to support us in the post of chairperson of ward-11 of Tansen Municipality and we have reached an understanding to support Janamorcha for the three members of the ward,” said Sharma.

District secretary of Nepali Congress Jhapendra Gahire informed that they have forged electoral alliance as per the approval from the party headquarters and upon reaching understanding in the local levels.

Leave A Comment