Malla, Vesawkar to lead Nepali team in ACC Emerging Nations Cup

Published On: March 15, 2017 12:05 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 15: Nepal has declared a 15-member team for upcoming ACC Emerging Nations Cup cricket tournament under the captainship of Gyanendra Malla.

As regular captain Paras Khadka decided to take rest after recent appendicitis surgery, the selection committee headed by ICC-Asia's Development Officer Venkatapathy Raju on Wednesday declared the list 15 players for the tournament to be held in Bangladesh from March 25 to April 4. The selection committee includes Head Coach Jagat Tamatta, Khadka and Malla as members.

According to the selection committee, Sharad Vesawkar is assigned as the vice captain of the team, where Binod Bhandari, Sagar Pun, Md. Arif Sheikh, Mahaboob Alam, Dipendra Sing Airee, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahamad Asif Sheikh, Avinash Karn, Sunil Dhamala, Bhuwan Karki, Sushan Bhari, Dipesh Shrestha, and  Dilip Nath are members of the squad.

The selection committee has considered Kushal Bhurtel, Jitendra Kumar Mukhiya, Rajesh Pulami Magar and Sushil Kandel as the reserve players for the tournament.

According to the selection committee, the training camp for the tournament will begin from Sunday.

The selection committee has decided to give rest to senior player Basant Regmi, Shakti Gauchan and Sompal Kami in the upcoming tournament. Asif Sheikh, Dilip Nath, Dipesh Shrestha are new faces to replace the senior trio.

Leave A Comment