Local units to abolish child labor by 2029

Published On: April 9, 2019 08:55 AM NPT By: Sabita Shrestha

CHITWAN, April 9: The Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security has launched a “National Master Plan 2075-2085 BS” to abolish child labor. The master plan aims to eradicate child labor from 50 local units in the first year.  The first stage has begun with a program targeting to abolish child labor from 17 such local units.

The plan includes four metropolitan cities, five sub-metropolitan cities and eight municipalities. Chitwan's Bharatpur Metropolitan city and Ratnanagar Municipality, Morang's Biratnagar Metropolitan City, Saptari's Rajbiraj and Kanchan Rup municipalities, Rautahat's Chandrapur Municipality, Parsa's Birgunj Metroploitan City, Kaski's Pokhara Metropolitan city, Dang's Tulsipur and Ghorahi sub-metropolitan cities are some of the local units under the master plan.  

Banke's Nepalgunj Sub-Metropolitan City, Doti's Dipayal Silgadhi Municipality, Baitadi's Dashrath Chand Municipality, Kailali's Dhangadhi Sub-metropolitan City, Surkhet's Birendranagar and Bajura's Budinanda municipalities are the remaining of the 17 local units.

Leave A Comment