Local level polls: voting underway at 13 centers

Published On: May 16, 2022 04:20 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 16: Under the local level elections 2022, voting is underway at 13 polling centers where the elections were postponed on May 13 due to various reasons.

According to the Election Commission, election is taking place at two polling centers based in Janata Secondary School at Harihara of Rupani Rural Municipality, Saptari; at three centers of Rakamthum of Khandadevi Municipality in Ramechhap, two centers based in Jagannath Secondary School of Kedarsyu municipality, Bajhang, one center of Krishna Primary School of Surma Rural Municipality, Bajhang  and at two centers at Aadhabagar Secondary School in the same municipality among others. 

Voting was postponed due to political and other disputes.  On May 13, voting could not take place at 85 centers of 44 polling stations of 28 local levels in 17 districts and fixing a fresh poll date and conducting the voting are going on.

The voting will be taking place tomorrow, May 17, at two centers of Shriram Secondary School of Panchkhal Municipality, Kavrepalanchwok, at two centers of Nawa Jyoti Secondary School in Panchadewal Binayak Municipality, Achham, at three centers at Thakurdevi Secondary School of Shahid Bhumi rural municipality, Dhankuta, at one center in Bijay Secondary School of Punarbas municipality, Kanchanpur and at one center based in Peace Creative Academy of Budhinanda municipality, Bajura . 

Election has been rescheduled for Wednesday, May 18 at two centers in Byas Municipality in Tanahu.

According to the EC, among the polling stations where the election is taking place on May 17 are two polling booths at the Shree Ram Secondary School voting station in Panchkhal, Kavrepalanchok; two polling booths at the Panchadeval Binayak Nagar Navajyoti Secondary School polling station in Achham; three polling booths at the Thakurdevi Secondary School voting station at Sahid Bhumi Rural Municipality, Dhankuta district; one polling booth at the Bijaya Secondary School voting station at Punarbas Nagar, Kanchanpur district; and one voting booth at the Peace Creative Academy polling station in Budhinanda Municipality of Bajura district. 

Similarly, election is taking place on May 18 at the two polling booths at the Gabisa Bhawan polling station of Byasnagar Municipality in Tanahun district. Elections were held at seven out of the polling stations where the voting was postponed on May 13.


Leave A Comment