Left alliance bags 116 FPTP seats

Published On: December 13, 2017 06:26 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Dec 13: The left alliance has so far bagged 116 seats of the 165 first-past-the-post (FPTP) seats in parliament.

Communist parties CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center) and Rastriya Janamorcha have won more than two-thirds FPTP seats in parliament. UML won 79 constituencies, the Maoist Center has secured victory in 36 constituencies and Rastriya Janamorcha has won one parliamentary seat from Pyuthan taking the alliance’s total FPTP seats to 115. Similarly the Nepali Congress has won 22 seats.

The Rastriya Janata Party Nepal has secured 11 seats followed by Federal Socialist Forum Nepal’s 10 seats. Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party won one seat each. Chhakka Bahadur Lama is the only independent candidate who won parliamentary seat from Humla. 

Now the results of only three parliamentary constituencies remain to be declared. Vote counting is under way in Sunsari-3, Syangja-2 and Kailali-4. In Sunsari-3, Bhagawati Chaudhary and Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar are in a tight competition. In Syangja-2, UML’s leader Padma Aryal has taken lead against Gopalman Shrestha of Nepali Congress while UML leader Jhapat Rawal has taken lead against NC candidate Mohan Singh Rathaur in Kailali-4.  

The parliament’s 165 members are elected under the FPTP system and another 110 are elected under the proportional representation (PR) system.   

A party needs to secure 184 seats to garner two-thirds majority in parliament. Now, the left alliance needs to win 68 more seats for two-thirds majority. 

The counting of votes under the PR electoral system is currently underway. According to the latest update, UML is leading the PR vote count with 1,645,697 votes. The NC has so far bagged 1,553,249 votes followed by Maoist Center’s 651,677 votes.

Similarly, the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has bagged 166,024 votes, Rastriya Janata Party 112,767, Rastriya Prajatantra Party 103,657,  Bibeksheel Sajha Party 100,457 votes, Naya Shakti Party 49,394, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) 35,097, and the Rastriya Janamorcha has won 32,038 PR votes.

Leave A Comment