Lawmakers sworn-in as members of Federal Parliament (With pictures)

Published On: March 4, 2018 04:45 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Mar 4: Lawmakers, who were elected in the election of Federal Parliament have been administered the oath on Sunday afternoon.

The ceremony held at the New Baneshwar-based International Conference Centre (ICC), the senior elected member Mahantha Thakur from RJPN administered the oath to 271 MPs representing various parties.

Resham Chaudhary from RJPN, who is accused of Tikapur incident and is currently in police custody, did not attend the ceremony.

Four lawmakers were absent during the swearing-in ceremony of the House of Representatives members today. The absent lawmakers were – Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Mahendra Raya Yadav, Dharmashila Chapagain and Resham Chaudhari, said Dr Bharat Raj Gautam, Spokesperson of the Legislature-Parliament Secretariat. 

President Bidya Devi Bhandari on February 19 had summoned the first ever meeting of the Federal Parliament on March 5 as per Article 3 (1) of the constitution.

The Federal Parliament constitute of 275 members, directly elected and those elected on basis of proportional representation system.


Leave A Comment