Lawmaker Dr Wagle vows to work for Tanahun people

Published On: April 25, 2023 01:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

TANAHUN, April 25: Newly-elected member of the House of Representatives (HoR) from Rastriya Swatantra Party, Dr Swarnim Wagle, has been provided a certificate of election victory from constituency no 1 of Tanahun district.

Chief Returning Officer Komal Prasad Acharya handed the certificate to Wagle amidst a program today. As per the vote count, Dr Wagle emerged victorious by collecting a total of 34,911 votes.

In the certificate handover program, the newly-elected HoR member Dr Wagle vowed that he would work in a way the Tanahu people would be proud of him. The agenda of development would be addressed, he added. "I will ensure justice to the people's expectation," he pledged, adding that he would work in collaboration and coordination with all political parties in Tanahun. According to him, if policy and competence are put in the right place, development potential could be unlocked. 

He further said, "Collective efforts will contribute to the country's development."

On the occasion, Chief Returning Officer Acharya thanked all sides for holding the election peacefully.

Meanwhile, nearest contender of Dr Wagle, Govinda Bhattarai, congratulated Dr Wagle for his win and extended his best wishes to him. "Our election campaign and competition were friendly and cordial," Bhattarai said, observing that he had failed to meet the voters' expectations while Dr Wagle had not.

He further said that although he did not yearn for position and post in his political career, he continued the campaign of development in this region.

Dr Wagle won the election by securing 34,911 votes in the by-election.

His nearest contender Bhattarai of the Nepali Congress collected 20,122 votes, while CPN UML candidate Sarbendra Khanal got 8,488 votes, according to Assistant Election Officer Min Bahadur Kunwar.


Leave A Comment