Lakshman Kishore Chaudhary wins PA seat from Kailali-1B

Published On: November 24, 2022 02:39 PM NPT By: Yogesh Rawal

TIKAPUR, Nov 24: Lakshman Kishore Chaudhary of Nagarik Unmukti Party has won a seat in the provincial assembly from Kailali-1B.  He defeated Nepali Congress leader Rana Bahadur Rawal, a common candidate of the ruling alliance, by a margin of 3,264 votes.

According to the District Election Office, Chaudhary received 11,031 votes while his closest competitor, Rawal, obtained 8,533 votes.

Chaudhary was defeated by Rawal in the 2017 state assembly election when he finished third with 8,845 votes, while Nep Bahadur Chaudhary of CPN-Maoist was in the second place with 8,906 votes. This time, Rawal won with 9,434 votes. Back in 2017, Chaudhary had contested the election from Rastriya Janata Party.

Similarly, Assistant Election Officer Lakshmi Od informed that Dwarika Neupane of CPN-UML, finished third with 5,320 votes followed by Dambar Bahadur Thapa of RPP with 1,338 votes.

Seven other candidates in the election contest could not get over 1000 votes. A total of 29,614 votes were cast in the constituency while 1,409 votes were invalid.

Leave A Comment