Karnataka Election: BJP bags 104 seats, Congress 78

Published On: May 15, 2018 04:45 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KARNATAKA, May 15:  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken an early lead against the Congress as the votes counting for the Karnataka election results began on Tuesday morning.

The Election Commission is expected to announce the final figures later in the day.

With the results for 222 of the total 224 seats coming out in the Karnataka assembly, BJP won 104 seats, the Congress bagged 78 seats, the JD (S) 37 while independents secured three seats as of 4pm.pm.

The Congress President Rahul Gandhi met with former Prime Minister Deve Gowda’s JD(S) on Tuesday to keep Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party out of power in the southern state that registered a voter turnout of more than 72% in the elections held on May 12.

BJP cadres celebrate holding a lotus, the party symbol, after party's lead in Karnataka assembly elections 2018 outside the party headquarters in Bengaluru.

Leave A Comment