Judicial Council transfers three Special Court judges

Published On: February 26, 2019 06:05 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Feb 25: The Judicial Council (JC) has transferred three Special Court judges. A meeting of the JC led by Chief Justice Cholendra SJB Rana on Sunday decided to transfer judges Chandi Raj Dhakal and Ratna Bahadur Bagchand to Jumla High Court and judge Narayan Pokhrel to Rajbiraj High Court.

The Special Court still has three judges Baburam Regmi, Dwarikaman Joshee and Pramod Kumar Vaidya Shrestha to oversee corruption cases. Though it took the decision on Sunday but the decision has been made public on Monday.

The Kathmandu-based Special Court has been deciding corruption cases registered by the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA).

Judges Dhakal, Bagchand and Pokhrel were transferred to the Special Court by the then Chief Justice Gopal Prasad Parajuli from various high courts but they were accused of granting bail to the accused in high-profile corruption cases.

In recent times, the CIAA has filed some big corruption cases at the Special Court. But the judges at the court have been facing the allegation of releasing the accused in these cases on bail. The Special Court is considering high-profile corruption cases involving suspended director general of the Inland Revenue Department, Chudamani Sharma, Pappu Construction and irregularities in the printing of polymer banknotes in 2002.

Leave A Comment